What is the Charter Standard?

Launched in 2001, The FA Charter Standard Programme is The FA’s accreditation scheme for grassroots clubs and leagues.

Its goal is to raise standards in grassroots football, support the development of clubs and leagues, recognising and rewarding them for their commitment and achievements.


With this in mind, The FA Charter Standard accreditation is awarded to clubs and leagues rigorously adjudged to be well-run and sustainable – and which prioritise child protection, quality coaching and implementation of the Respect programme.

There are three levels of FA Charter Standard Awards for clubs:

  •     FA Charter Standard Club for youth and adult clubs: the entry-level accreditation.
  •     FA Charter Standard Development Club: for clubs clearly enhancing the quality and scope of their football offering.
  •     FA Charter Standard Community Club: acknowledging the most advanced level of club development and football provision.

For clubs who have FA Charter Standard accreditation, the challenge is to progress to the next level or to maintain that level.

FA Charter Standard status is a clear demonstration to all parents, sponsors and the public, that a club (or league):

  • Is well-organised, safe and offers opportunities for all.
  • Has FA-qualified coaches as standard.
  • Adheres to FA Respect Policies and Codes of Conduct.
  • Prioritises Child Welfare.
  • Maintains appropriate levels of discipline.
  • Has access to the County FA and FA regional workforces.


Our Journey…

At Bealonians Football Club we are working hard towards improving our standards and increase our involvement within our local community.

The club achieved ‘Development Club’ status in 2007, and is proud to have passed our Annual Health Check every year since to maintain that status.

Our journey stated back in March 2003 when the Awards4All scheme provided the funds for our volunteers to undertake the education and training to meet the criteria for a ‘Charter Standard’ club. The hard work was rewarded in April 2004 when we achieved the Charter Club Award for both adult and youth football.

The Charter requires that all your Manager’s & Coaches have gained the minimum coaching award of the Level 1 Certificate in Coaching Football and have attended workshops in the areas of Emergency Aid and Best Practices with regards to Safeguarding Children.

Bealonians Football Club has an impressive record of making available courses to its volunteers. Since July 2004 numerous club coaches have registered on a Level 1 course and passed. We also have Level 1 coaches who have since gone on to pass their Level 2 Coaching badge as well.

The club takes a very positive attitude towards providing courses for its volunteers and utilises training via both AFA and Essex County FAs. The club has a commitment to making courses accessible to our coaches to aid in their education.

This is an ongoing process for the club if we wish to keep the Charter Award and progress to the higher award’s, everybody at the club must take an interest and give their support.

We are proud that our County FA, the Amateur Football Alliance has awarded the club ‘FA Charter Standard Development Club of the Year’ in 2010, 2011 and 2014.